Hello world!

I’m a 24 year-old woman who’s struggled with self-injury for a little over 7 years now.  While trying to leave it behind me has been a rigorous war, my greatest ally in waging it has been my Friend, my Advocate, my Savior—Jesus Christ.  I doubt I would have had the discernment to realize I needed to stop in the first place were it not for coming in deeper contact with His timelessly true message…that I am extremely precious to Him and that there is hope for me beyond what I see for myself.  I’ve been a Christian my whole life but this conflict I fight daily within myself has made my faith infinitely more personal.  6 ½ years ago, I made a commitment to Him to stop hurting myself.  I haven’t been able to carry through on it perfectly, but I’ve resolved not to use mistakes as reasons to give up.  My average success rate is being able to go 2 years without cutting myself.  On my better days, I have hope that I will eventually learn to go longer without caving to the impulse.

Over the years, I’ve spent a fair amount of time poking around online for ideas to help me in my journey of resistance.  I have come across many practical strategies for coping with the urge to hurt myself but had trouble finding much in the way of helpful resources from a faith-based perspective.  My love for God is central to my heart, so it made a great deal of sense to incorporate it into the healthier lifestyle I wish to lead.  I’ve devoted this blog to the exploration of the many things Christ uniquely offers us to combat this drive to self-injure.  My hope is that it could be a source of encouragement to others who wish to stop self-injuring.  Our stories and pain may be different but our goal is the same…to live in freedom from this all-consuming torment.  Both God’s grace and patience are persevering enough to sustain us throughout our journeys.  For family/friends who may have come across this blog seeking to better understand the struggles of their loved ones, I will pray you are able to find something useful in these musings of mine.

I do not claim to know all the answers or have the ever elusive magic “fix it” button to just make the problem vanish.  What I do know is that self-injury seldom occurs as an isolated problem; there are underlying reasons for why we feel driven to it as a form of release, expression, punishment, etc.  All the coping strategies in the world can help manage the urge more effectively but they don’t eliminate those reasons.  This is where I think Christ plays an essential role in our recovery by addressing the reasons to bring a sense of love and fulfilment to the agony and emptiness that fuels them.  I will share how He has done that and continues to do that in my life in subsequent posts.

2 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. Thank you for the comment you left on my most recent post, “Hurt.” I too have a close relationship with Jesus Christ, though it may not appear so. I do try very hard to follow the pattern Paul left us in Philippians 4:8. Some days I just cannot see through the mire. It is all I can do to survive those days. My goal is to let people see the harsh realities of living with bipolar disorder, the good and the bad. After reading most of your blog posts, I have so many questions.I can’t thank you enough for sharing your life. It is not lost on me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your work to increase awareness of what it’s like to struggle with bipolar disorder. You enhanced my perspective on it, especially through artistic expression, and gave me a lot to consider. As far as questions go, ask away 🙂 I’m always open to new ideas for posts!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

